My sister told me that she knew a former-pastor in her school that she thought would be a good interviewee for my topic. I have set an appointment with him yesterday and carried over the interview through the phone. The former pastor was Mr. Paolo Samaniego.

    I had this prior bias of thinking that he would not want the RH Bill to be passed, but I was proven wrong somehow.

    “ Ah… yung RH Bill ba? Okay, neutral naman ako diyan. Pero wala naman talagang kaso sa akin kung maipapasa bay an o hinde.”

    I asked him my first question and told me that he knew about the RH Bill in the news and told me that his knowledge about the bill itself was superficial but he was aware of conservative people would tend to reject the idea of passing the Bill.


    “ Unang una, naisip ko din kasi eh na yung mga kumokontra diyan eh wala pa talagang experience (laughs). Pero alam ko naman saan sila nanggagalingan. Oo nga naman kasi, parang kinonsinte mo kasi magkaroon ng access yung mga bata sa mga bagay na di pa dapat nila ginagawa. Medyo immoral nga yon’ kung iisipin diba… pero kung sa aspeto lang din ng pagiging ligtas, okay ako diyan.”

    He mentions on how easy access to contraceptives would help people to be protected from STD’s (sexually transmitted diseases), specifically HIV (human immuno deficiency virus). He told me that in that aspect, passing the Bill would surely save lives. But he clarifies that there are many ways in which people still needs to abstain and that it would still be the best thing for unmarried couples.


    “ Pero di porke’t  may contraceptives na eh, yon’na yon’. Pinaka mabuting paraang pa din yung pag aabstain sa sex. And young people should also be aware of the responsibilities of being a parent. Aba, di yata biro yon’.



10/25/2010 01:07:06 am

The blog is very complete and very helpful the pictures you used to understand, really amused me much,if I really like your blog!

Reply



Leave a Reply.