I have this friend from UP which was quite a critique of the RH Bill being long overdue. My interviewee this time was Arthur Aurelio a Political Science major in the University of the Philippines, Manila.

    When I started to mention the word RH Bill he began to laugh and started to rant about how the politicians being too self-centered, not caring for its people, and as he highlighted, ignorant. Being cautious not to stray off from the topic I tried to stick with the questions I wanted to ask. He told me that he read the contents of the Bill and said that it was totally safe and not anti-life as some protesters of the Bill claims.

    “I’ve read the whole thing…well not really (laughs) but the parts that I thought was quite relevant for me. At wala naman ako nabasa na ni-legalize ang abortion.”

    He said also told me that it was actually pro-life as it would probably save unplanned families and young parents.

    “Alam mo naman sa panahon ngayon normal nalang sa mga mag-syota mag-sex. Hindi na yun abnormal RJ (interviewer). At sa tingin ko pag mas madali maka-access mga tao sa contraceptives, katulad nung sabi sa Bill, eh kahit papano mababawas bawasan mga hindi inaasahang supling… siguro (laughs).”

    And what I might expect based from his reactions about the RH Bill, he thinks that the Bill should be passed as he thinks that it was also a chance of making our people to be more open about sex.


    “… Tingnan mo nalang yung mga 1st world na bansa, legal na legal yan mga contraceptives. Kasi alam nila di mo naman talaga maiiwasan yun eh. Siguro kasi masyado conservative mga Pilipino. Siguro pag napasa yung RH Bill medyo maging liberal tayo sa mga ganyan bagay.”


    In this sense I was reminded of my previous post on the failure of repressive hypothesis. That the more you repress people to talk about something , the more they get curious about the topic. And in this case, sex was the taboo.
2/15/2011 11:26:58 am

They sense soil moisture in the immediate vicinity of the cup.

Reply



Leave a Reply.